Children's Choice Nursery, Wraparound and Playgroup - Whitley Bay, Monkseaton, Southridge 0191 251 7699

EYFS Guidance for Parents

The Early Years Foundation Stage is the time in your child’s life between birth and 5 years, as described by the Government and Early Years Professionals (revised in Sept 2012).

This very important stage helps your child prepare for school and future life learning. From your child’s birth up until the age of 5, their early years experience should be happy, active, exciting, fun and secure, and should support their development, care and learning needs. Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside.

Nurseries, pre-schools, reception classes and childminders registered to deliver the EYFS must follow a legal document called the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework. The framework was developed with a number of early years experts and parents, and exists to support all professionals working in the EYFS to help your child.

It sets out:

  • The legal welfare requirements that Children’s Choice must follow to keep your child safe and promote their welfare
  • The 7 areas of learning and development which guide professionals’ engagement with your child’s play and activities as they learn new skills and knowledge
  • Assessments that will tell you about your child’s progress through the EYFS
  • Expected levels that your child should reach at age 5, usually the end of the reception year. These expectations are called the ‘Early Learning Goals (ELGs)’

The EYFS Framework explains how and what your child will be learning at Children’s Choice to support their healthy development. Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development.

Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first. These are:

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development

These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning. As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. These are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

We use these 7 areas to plan your child’s learning and activities. We make sure that the activities are suited to your child’s unique needs. Like a curriculum in primary and secondary schools, this framework is suitable for very young children and is designed to be flexible for your child's changing needs and interests.

When your child is 2

Shortly after your child turns 2, your key carer at Children’s Choice will discuss with you how your child is progressing in the 3 prime areas of learning:

  • communication and language
  • physical development
  • personal, social and emotional development

This check will highlight areas where your child is progressing well and anywhere they might need extra help or support.

The Foundation for Early Years website provides both brief guides and the complete EYFS Guideline. Please follow these links

Alternatively call Children’s Choice on 0191 2517699 for further information.

Get in touch

We are always pleased to hear from you, please give us a call any time to arrange a visit and find out more about our childcare facilities.

Children’s Choice Nursery

Norham Road, Monkseaton, Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear, NE26 3NR

Debra Young
0191 251 7699
Click here to email us

Children’s Choice Wraparound

Southridge First School, Cranleigh Place, Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear, NE25 9UD

Katie Marshall or Danielle Watts
0191 917 6665
Click here to email us

Children’s Choice Playgroup

Southridge First School, Cranleigh Place, Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear, NE25 9UD

Karen Pollson
07746 480 842
Click here to email us